Yoga Philosophy

The philosophy of Ashtanga Yoga is the main text on yoga. It's ideas and values have been preserved mainly thanks to the sage Patanjali who collected information about the philosophy of Asthanga Yoga and presented it in form of “sutras.” All of the 196 sutras can be found in book called Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras.

What is the meaning of Ashtanga Yoga?

Ashtau = eight
Anga = limb
Yoga = union
Ashtanga Yoga = eight limbs of yoga


YAMAS How to live in the world and treat others
NIYAMAS How to treat myself
ASANA Yogic “asanas” (postures) practiced in order to prepare the physical body for practices that follow. Keeps body in good shape and also brings mental peace and balance.
PRANAYAMA The channelling of life force through the manipulation of the breath.
PRATYAHARA Withdrawal of senses
DHARANA Concentration
DHYANA Meditation


guidelines for healthy relationships with our environment and others.

AHIMSA Be considerate to beings and life around you. Aim not to cause pain
and suffering in actions or in thought.
SATYA Truthfulness in speech, thought and actions. Do not manipulate the truth.
ASTEYA Non-taking (stealing); the ability to withstand the desire to take what
does not belong to us.
BRAHMACHARIA Self-discipline and moderation in all actions as well as sexual instinct. This is the path to the absolute reality.
APARIGRAHA Non-greediness; the ability to accept only what is appropriate.
Concentrate on needs, not desires.


guidelines for your relationship with your consciousness.

SAUCHA Cleanliness - keep body, mind and surroundings clean. Be natural, not artificial.
SANTOSHA Contentment with what you have and do not have. Always do your best and be ready to accept any outcome.
TAPAS Removal of physical and mental impurities through the heat of long-term practice; the cultivation of correct habits.
SVADHYAYA Study of sacred texts. Direct experiences earned by regular practice.
ISVARA PRANIDHANA Humility and gratitude; to offer the fruit of your actions. Respect for higher intelligence (energy, god, …). To accept your limitations.


The main meaning of “asana” is “seat,” or the ability to remain comfortablein a chosen pose for long period of time. Sitting is most suitable for pranayama and meditation therefore it is given a lot of importance in yoga practice. To be able to remain in a seated posture- stable and relaxed - it is necessary to prepare the body by continuous practice of various asanas. Regular asana practice offers numerous health benefits. It stretches and opens the body, aids in the release of accumulated toxins by stimulating the internal organs and glands. which induces the correct functioning of body.

Asana practice is also a method of self-study, during which we learn to feel our body, actively work with the breath and learn to channel our mind.


Pranayam is the channeling of our vital energy through the manipulation of the breathing apparatus. Methods of pranayama work on the activation and regulating of Kundalini (Higher Energy) which lays dormant in each one of us. Pranayama is considered the most important of Tapas. The main aim of pranayama is to open the door to higher levels of consciousness and energy.


Pratyahara is the withdrawal of senses from the outside world. Pratyahara is a way of expanding control over our mind. By drawing the senses inwardly we are not disturbed by outside sensations and the mind is able to concentrate on a chosen object.


The mind is trained inconcentration by connecting it regularly with one object or place. Concentration is the beginning of meditation and is an integral part of meditation. The nature of the mind is to wander so we just keep bring it back.


Dhyana is continuous, uninterrupted communication between the meditator and object of meditation. The mind is fixed on the object of meditation. Short spells of concentration (dharana) become longer over time and eventually this becomes meditation.


Sacred texts present samadhi as the outcome of meditation. Samadhi itself is said to have several levels of depth, in which in the final step the meditator, the object of meditation and the meditator become one.

Only by mastering all eight limbs of Ashtanga Yoga philosophy can the state of Yoga can happen. The Yoga Sutras describes this as the “Restraint of modifications of Mind-stuff”.